News Search International - Hong Kong

Search the Racing and Sports News Archives:

Type atleast three letters to find.


2020 September
  • Thu, Sep 24, 2020
    Caspar Fownes’ red-hot form continued at Happy Valley on Wednesday (23 September), with the three-time champion trainer slamming in a double to extend his early lead at the top of the premiership.
  • Tue, Sep 22, 2020
    Joao Moreira enjoyed one of his most prolific days in the saddle on Sunday at Sha Tin with a six-timer and he heads to Wednesday’s (23 September) eight-race programme at Happy Valley looking to continue his red-hot form with a full book of mounts, including Beauty Applause (120lb) in the feature, the Class 2 Big Wave Bay Handicap (1200m).
  • Mon, Sep 21, 2020
    Joao Moreira’s brilliant best was on show today (20 September) at Sha Tin as he collected a superb six-timer which he capped with victory aboard the impressive Excellent Proposal.
  • Fri, Sep 18, 2020
    Lakeshore Eagle soared to a hat-trick of wins at the end of last season and this Sunday (20 September) at Sha Tin the smart galloper will shoot for his fourth in succession when he lines up in a smoking hot Class 2 Cheung Shan Handicap (1600m).
  • Thu, Sep 17, 2020
    Caspar Fownes’ fast start to the 2020/21 season continued as the three-time champion trainer bagged a treble at Happy Valley on Wednesday, 16 September to put him four wins clear at the top of the trainers’ premiership after four meetings.
  • Tue, Sep 15, 2020
    Beauty Generation’s campaign ramped up a notch this morning (Tuesday, 15 September) at Sha Tin with a 1000m turf barrier trial that connections hope will lead to a fourth consecutive win in the G3 Celebration Cup Handicap (1400m) in a fortnight’s time, before pointing him to his main target, December’s LONGINES Hong Kong International Races.
  • Sat, Sep 12, 2020
    Sky Field made a big statement before the break between seasons and this Sunday (13 September) at Sha Tin he readies for his return in the Class 3 Hung Hom Handicap (1200m), with the Four-Year-Old Classic Series on his radar.
  • Thu, Sep 10, 2020
    Hong Kong’s champion jockey Zac Purton was at his brilliant best on Wednesday (9 September) night as he bagged a quartet of wins at Happy Valley’s first fixture of the season to find himself in an all too familiar spot: top of the premiership.
  • Mon, Sep 07, 2020
    Joao Moreira, winless on this day last year, made a roaring start to the 2020/2021 racing season with a winning treble at the opening meeting of the Hong Kong racing season at Sha Tin which also saw fierce riding rival Zac Purton, trainer John Size and his triumphantly returning contemporary David Hayes claim doubles.
  • Fri, Sep 04, 2020
    Golden Sixty stepped out for a trial this morning (Friday, 4 September) at Sha Tin as he prepares for his campaign debut in the G3 Celebration Cup Handicap (1400m) later this month, and his workout left regular rider Vincent Ho with the impression that the Medaglia d’Oro gelding has progressed through the summer break.
  • Thu, Sep 03, 2020
    The intensity of competition, a hallmark of Hong Kong racing, was keenly evident in last season’s fierce battle for the trainers' premiership which, ultimately, went to Ricky Yiu for the first time, and the 2020/21 racing season promises to be just as combative.
2020 August
2020 July
  • Wed, Jul 15, 2020
    Ricky Yiu is on the verge of the most extraordinary achievement in his 48-year career with the Hong Kong Jockey Club; an accomplishment greater even than his preparation of a three-time world champion sprinter. Yiu is within nine races of having ‘champion trainer’ appended to his name forever more.
  • Tue, Jul 07, 2020
    Zac Purton has the jockeys’ title more or less wrapped up – the shiny bow is all that’s needed – but the trainers’ race has plenty of yardage left with three race meetings to go, and Ricky Yiu is hoping to maintain his recent, dramatic form.
  • Sat, Jul 04, 2020
    On this week’s show we pay tribute to John Moore, the most successful trainer in Hong Kong racing history as he prepares to retire at the end of the season. As well as the second part of a special feature on the golden years of his career, Edward Sadler and David Morgan discuss the Australian’s impact in Hong Kong and preview this weekend’s feature race at Sha Tin.
  • Fri, Jul 03, 2020
    Karis Teetan surged past his best ever season’s tally of 84 wins late last month and the man dubbed the ‘Mauritian Magician’ is showing no signs of slowing with a full book of 11 rides this Sunday (5 July) at Sha Tin, including the exciting youngster Armando in the Class 2 Yan Chau Tong Handicap (1200m).
  • Wed, Jul 01, 2020
    Columbus County struck a blow for Zac Purton and this year’s BMW Hong Kong Derby crop with a victory full of promise in the Class 2 Hong Kong Reunification Cup Handicap (1800m) at Sha Tin on Wednesday, 1 July.
2020 June
  • Fri, Jun 26, 2020
    Zac Purton boosted his championship claims on Wednesday night with a fantastic four-timer at Happy Valley and this Saturday (27 June) at Sha Tin he is aiming to draw further clear of great rival Joao Moreira with a full book of 10 rides.