News Search International - Hong Kong

Search the Racing and Sports News Archives:

Type atleast three letters to find.


2020 July
  • Sat, Jul 04, 2020
    On this week’s show we pay tribute to John Moore, the most successful trainer in Hong Kong racing history as he prepares to retire at the end of the season. As well as the second part of a special feature on the golden years of his career, Edward Sadler and David Morgan discuss the Australian’s impact in Hong Kong and preview this weekend’s feature race at Sha Tin.
  • Fri, Jul 03, 2020
    Karis Teetan surged past his best ever season’s tally of 84 wins late last month and the man dubbed the ‘Mauritian Magician’ is showing no signs of slowing with a full book of 11 rides this Sunday (5 July) at Sha Tin, including the exciting youngster Armando in the Class 2 Yan Chau Tong Handicap (1200m).
  • Wed, Jul 01, 2020
    Columbus County struck a blow for Zac Purton and this year’s BMW Hong Kong Derby crop with a victory full of promise in the Class 2 Hong Kong Reunification Cup Handicap (1800m) at Sha Tin on Wednesday, 1 July.
2020 June
  • Fri, Jun 26, 2020
    Zac Purton boosted his championship claims on Wednesday night with a fantastic four-timer at Happy Valley and this Saturday (27 June) at Sha Tin he is aiming to draw further clear of great rival Joao Moreira with a full book of 10 rides.
  • Tue, Jun 23, 2020
    There are seven meetings left in the 2019/20 Hong Kong racing season and while the talk of the town has been the champion jockey race between Zac Purton and Joao Moreira, it’s the man dubbed the ‘Mauritian Magician’ who has stolen the spotlight of late with seven wins from the last two race meetings.
  • Fri, Jun 19, 2020
    Vincent Ho bagged his first Group 1 victory aboard Southern Legend in the FWD Champions Mile and on Sunday (21 June) at Sha Tin they pair up again in search of more Pattern-race success when they tackle the HK$3.25 million G3 Premier Plate Handicap (1800m).
  • Mon, Jun 15, 2020
    Lakeshore Eagle soared to a third win on the bounce and initiated a mid-card four-timer for Karis Teetan who continued a flaming streak at Sha Tin on Sunday, 14 June.
  • Fri, Jun 12, 2020
    A pair of cracking Class 2 contests highlight Sunday’s (14 June) 11-race card and Joao Moreira is looking to keep his momentum rolling as he aims to close the gap on premiership leader Zac Purton (129-126) with only nine meetings left in the Hong Kong racing season.
  • Thu, Jun 11, 2020
    Joao Moreira got the fillip he’d been looking for at Happy Valley on Wednesday, 10 June, teaming up with Caspar ‘King of the Valley’ Fownes to nail a much-needed double.
  • Sat, Jun 06, 2020
    Karis Teetan goes into Sunday’s (7 June) Sha Tin meeting well astern of Zac Purton and Joao Moreira in the title race but the in-from rider has a solid grip on third place with 76 wins, a tally that puts him within striking range of his personal best of 84.
2020 May
  • Sat, May 23, 2020
    Champion jockey Zac Purton picks out his three favourite wins on Exultant, the studio panel preview Sunday’s Standard Chartered Champions and Chater Cup and learn more about Matthew Chadwick as he ‘Weighs in’.
  • Tue, May 19, 2020
    Happy Valley specialist Amazing Star is shooting for his fifth win at the city circuit this season when he faces off against talented rivals in the Class 2 Ho Chung River Handicap (1200m) on Wednesday, 20 May.
  • Mon, May 18, 2020
    Joao Moreira outscored jockeys’ championship rival Zac Purton three to one at Sha Tin on Sunday (17 May), a haul that left the three-time Hong Kong champions locked on 117 wins apiece heading into the season’s final 16 meetings.
  • Sat, May 16, 2020
    International sales consignor Malcolm Bastard joins Andrew Le Jeune to talk about his role with the Hong Kong International Sale, hear from in-form Brazilian jockey Vagner Borges and Declan Schuster previews the Class 2 Hoi Ha Handicap on Sunday.
  • Thu, May 14, 2020
    Zac Purton and Joao Moreira continued their back-and-forth battle for the Hong Kong champion jockey title at Happy Valley on Wednesday, 13 May with the Australian outpointing the Brazilian two to one.
  • Tue, May 12, 2020
    Antoine Hamelin has made a fine start to his Hong Kong career since emerging from quarantine five weeks ago and the Frenchman is showing no signs of slowing as one of only three jockeys with a full book of nine rides at Happy Valley on Wednesday (13 May).
  • Sat, May 09, 2020
    Joao Moreira knows he needs a big response at Sha Tin on Saturday (9 May) after title rival Zac Purton burst four wins clear at the top of the premiership with a fantastic five-timer at Happy Valley midweek.
  • Fri, May 08, 2020
    New Hong Kong apprentice Jerry Chau is on this week’s show, plus there’s a behind the scenes look at Happy Valley with race caller Tom Wood and Edward Sadler and Sam Agars preview Saturday’s meeting at Sha Tin.
  • Thu, May 07, 2020
    Zac Purton arrived at Happy Valley on Wednesday (6 May) in search of the ignition that might fire him through the final two months of the season to a fourth champion jockey title – a dazzling five-timer might prove to be the spark he wished for.
2020 April
  • Tue, Apr 28, 2020
    Frankie Lor heads into Wednesday’s (29 April) Happy Valley meeting with course specialist Flash Famous looking to become the first horse this season to win five races at the city circuit when he contests section one of the Class 3 Fortress Hill Handicap (1650m).
  • Sun, Apr 26, 2020
    Mr Stunning lived up to his name and cemented his place as one of Hong Kong’s finest sprinters this afternoon (26 April) at Sha Tin with a 20/1 victory in the HK$18 million G1 Chairman’s Sprint Prize (1200m).
  • Thu, Apr 23, 2020
    Hot King Prawn is one of the most dependable horses in training and at Sha Tin this Sunday (26 April) trainer John Size is hopeful that reliability can at last be rewarded with a G1 success in the Chairman’s Sprint Prize (1200m).
  • Thu, Apr 23, 2020
    John Moore believes Aethero is “definitely the one they’ve all got to beat” after the precocious sprinter this morning (Thursday, 23 April) drew gate five of 11 for the G1 Chairman’s Sprint Prize.
  • Thu, Apr 23, 2020
    Zac Purton made sure he gained some benefit from Joao Moreira’s absence at Happy Valley on Wednesday (22 April) night with a double that took him to within one of his great rival at the top of the Hong Kong jockeys’ premiership.
  • Wed, Apr 22, 2020
    More Than This heads into Sunday’s (26 April) HK$20 million G1 FWD Champions Mile in the midst of an identity crisis of sorts but reunited with Karis Teetan, the man with a perfect record on the Francis Lui-trained four-year-old.
  • Tue, Apr 21, 2020
    Beauty Generation is facing a strong challenge for Hong Kong’s Horse of the Year award this season and anything but a record third straight victory in the HK$20 million G1 FWD Champions Mile on Sunday, 26 April, could see the crown go to Golden Sixty, perhaps Exultant, maybe even Waikuku or Beat The Clock.
  • Tue, Apr 21, 2020
    Tony Millard enjoyed one of his biggest days at Sha Tin when the exceptional Ambitious Dragon won the 2011 G1 QEII Cup (2000m) and this Sunday (26 April) the handler will saddle the talented duo Glorious Dragon and Elusive State in the HK$25 million
  • Sat, Apr 18, 2020
    Jockeys’ championship protagonists Zac Purton and Joao Moreira have continued to trade blows in recent weeks and that looks set to continue on Sunday’s (19 April) 10-race Sha Tin card, with their rivalry highlighted in the clash of rising youngsters Mighty Giant (132lb) and Juneau Park (119lb).
  • Tue, Apr 14, 2020
    Follow Hong Kong racing’s Rising Star candidates at the Hong Kong Jockey Club’s theme site (Website: http://campaign.hkjc.com/en/rising-star/index.aspx) and enjoy the thrill of charting their progress to see which will emerge as serious players in the season’s remaining feature races.
  • Tue, Apr 14, 2020
    The Hong Kong Jockey Club purchased nine eye-catching colts for a total outlay of AU$5.145 million (approximately HK$24.6 million) at the recent Inglis Australian Easter Yearling Sale.
  • Thu, Apr 09, 2020
    This Is Class (120lb) had to do it the hard way but the progressive sprinter had enough quality to maintain an upward curve with victory in a smoking Class 2 Hing Man Handicap (1000m) at Happy Valley on Wednesday (8 April).
  • Mon, Apr 06, 2020
    Beauty Generation brushed aside the younger challenger and shrugged off old rivals to win the G2 Chairman’s Trophy (1600m) at Sha Tin today (Sunday, 5 April), setting up the prospect of an unprecedented third victory in the G1 FWD Champions Mile at the end of the month.


2020 April