2021 Tatt’s Tiara: Race History

Some high quality ladies are in the Race History of the Tatt’s Tiara run at Eagle Farm on Saturday.

Red Tracer
Red Tracer Picture: Racing and Sports

Red Tracer was an ever popular mare who won in 2013. The 2021 Tatt's Tiara (1400m) at Eagle Farm on Saturday is such a top field.

2021 Tatt's Tiara: Nominations


The Tattersall's Tiara is a Group 1 race for fillies and mares conducted by the Brisbane Racing Club as part of the Queensland racing carnival and is the final G1 each season.

The Tattersall's Tiara was first run in 1989 won by La Posette when it was known as the Winter Stakes. 2011 was the first running as the Tiara.

It was a Listed race from 1992 to 1995, G3 up to 2005, G2 in 2006 and G1 from 2007 until now.

2015 Sky Racing Tattersall's Tiara - Srikandi

The Tattersall's Tiara is run under Weight For Age conditions and is usually run over the 1400m at Eagle Farm but in 2017 was over 1350m at Doomben due to the issues with Eagle Farm. In 2015 they ran the race at Gold Coast. Eagle Farm hosted again in 2019.

In 1997 Dane Ripper won the Stradbroke then won this race before winning the Cox Plate later that year. Srikandi in 2015 also did the Stradbroke/Tiara double.

After so many tries in big races, Red Tracer got her rewards for effort in winning the 2013 Tiara. She would win a Myer Classic after that.

Favourites don't have the best record. There is a winning split between fillies and mares in recent runnings. Most run in the Stradbroke or Dane Ripper as the lead up.

Prompt Response was beaten a head in 2017 but got redemption a year later over a very good fillies and mares field.

In 2019, Invincibella fought back in between two Godolphin mares to win her first G1. However the other important notes from this race were that it gave Jason Collett his first major and Chris Waller broke the record for most G1s in a season (18).

The 2021 Tattersall's Tiara is worth $600,000 in prizemoney.

The 2020 edition was abandoned due to the coronavirus.

Past winners include Rich Pageantry (1993), Mamzelle Pedrille (1995), Dane Ripper (1997), Bonanova (1999/2000), Porto Roca (2001), Miss Potential (2004), Absolut Glam (2008), Melito (2010), Red Tracer (2013), Cosmic Endeavour (2014), Srikandi (2015) and Invincibella (2019).

The 2019 Tattersall's Tiara was won by Invincibella from Pohutukawa and Savatiano.

Racing and Sports