2019 PB Lawrence Stakes: Race History

Many a WFA contender has kicked off their preps in the PB Lawrence Stakes run at Caulfield on Saturday.

Hartnell Picture: Racing and Sports

Hartnell is back again to try and win the race. He faces some good opponents in the 2019 PB Lawrence Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield on Saturday.

2019 PB Lawrence Stakes: Nominations


The PB Lawrence Stakes is a Group 2 race run under Weight For Age conditions for open class horses at Caulfield conducted by the Melbourne Racing Club.

The PB Lawrence Stakes is run over 1400m and has been that way since 1965.

It was first run in 1949 and was won by One Up. The PB Lawrence Stakes has always been a Group 2 race after being a Principal Race under the old system.

The PB Lawrence Stakes has been at Caulfield since 2002 but has been held mostly at Sandown and was originally at Flemington.

Until 2010 it was run as the JJ Liston Stakes but changed to PB Lawrence Stakes to honour a past Chairman of the MRC.

The PB Lawrence Stakes is often the starting point for many elite horses Spring campaigns. For instance Jameka kicked off her successful Caulfield Cup preparation running fourth in this.

The last Cox Plate winner to do the double was Tauto in 1971. Another was Tobin Bronze in 1966.

The Memsie Stakes over the same course and distance is the following pattern run two weeks later.

The 2019 PB Lawrence Stakes will be run for prizemoney of $200,000.

Notable winners of the PB Lawrence Stakes include Hartnell (2017), Mourinho (2015), Puissance De Lune (2013), Whobegotyou (2011), Shoot Out (2010), Light Fantastic (2008), Apache Cat (2007), Pompeii Ruler (2006), Lad Of The Manor (2005), Regal Roller (2004), Sports (2002), Inaflury (1999), Baryshnikov (1995), Mahogany (1994), Dr Grace (1991), Sydeston (1990), Military Plume (1987), So Called (1978), Winfreux (1968), Tobin Bronze (1966), Lord (1958) and Chicquita (1951).

The 2018 PB Lawrence Stakes was won by Showtime from Hartnell and Widgee Turf.

Racing and Sports