2019 Prix Jean Romanet: Race History

The Prix Jean Romanet run at Deauville on Sunday gives the older mares a chance for G1 glory.

Stacelita Picture: Racing and Sports

Stacelita was an elite mare on both sides of the Atlantic. Which mare takes the big prize in the 2019 Prix Jean Romanet (2000m) at Deauville on Sunday?


The Prix Jean Romanet is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for four year old and up mares at Deauville conducted by France Galop.

The Prix Jean Romanet is run over 2000m. It was first run in 2004 and was won by Whortleberry.

This is the only French feature open to the older mares ie Four year olds and older.

Nonza - Darley Prix Jean Romanet - Deauville - 19/08/18

Named after French Racing servant Jean Romanet, it was upgraded from Group 2 to Group 1 in 2009.

Thierry Thulliez, Maxime Guyon and Frankie Dettori have all ridden the winner twice.

Four trainers share most wins – Alain de Royer-Dupre, Jean de Roualle, Andre Fabre and James Fanshawe.

The only multiple winner is Satwa Queen in 2006 & 2007.

In 2012 top mare Snow Fairy lost the Prix Jean Romanet on a positive swab.

The last non-French winner was Ajman Princess in 2017 for Roger Varian.

The Prix Jean Romanet is worth €250,000 in 2019.

Notable winners of the Prix Jean Romanet include Izzi Top (2012), Stacelita (2010), Satwa Queen (2006/2007) and Pride (2005).

The 2018 Prix Jean Romanet was won by Nonza from Urban Fox and Navaro Girl.

Racing and Sports