2019 Vain Stakes: Race History

The boys begin their Springs in the Vain Stakes run at Caulfield on Saturday.

Toorak Toff
Toorak Toff Picture: Racing and Sports

Toorak Toff won before taking out the Golden Rose. Will it be a local or invader taking the 2019 Vain Stakes (1100m) at Caulfield on Saturday?

2019 Vain Stakes: Nominations


The Vain Stakes is a Group 3 race run under Set Weight and Penalty conditions for three year old colts and geldings at Caulfield conducted by the Melbourne Racing Club.

The Vain Stakes is run over 1100m and has swapped between 1100m and 1200m since inception.

It was first run in 1992 and was won by Never Undercharge. The Vain Stakes became a Group 3 race in 2013.

The Vain Stakes has been at Caulfield since 2002 but has been held occasionally at Sandown.

The Vain Stakes equivalent race for the fillies, the Quezette Stakes is run on the same card.

It is named after one of the all-time great sprinters in Vain.

The Vain Stakes is used as the beginning of many three year olds Guineas and Derby campaigns.

The 2019 Vain Stakes will be run for prizemoney of $160,000.

Notable winners of the Vain Stakes include Russian Revolution (2016), Safeguard (2013), Sepoy (2011), Toorak Toff (2010), Starspangledbanner (2009), Haradasun (2006), Red Dazzler (2005), North Boy (2001), Dandy Kid (1999), Principality (1995) and Never Undercharge (1992).

The 2018 Vain Stakes was won by Tony Nicconi from Long Leaf and Native Soldier.

Racing and Sports