2019 Lee Steere Stakes: Race History

Some recent Spring Melbourne G1 winners are in the Race History of Lee Steere Stakes run at Ascot on Saturday.

Gatting Picture: Racing and Sports

Gatting took this race out last year. Maybe that form can be duplicated in the 2019 Lee Steere Stakes (1400m) at Ascot on Saturday.


The Lee Steere Stakes is a Group 2 race run under Weight For Age conditions for the sprinters at Ascot conducted by Perth Racing.

The Lee Steere Stakes is run over 1400m. It was first run in 1893 and was won by Scarpia who'd win the first three runnings of the race.

The race is named after Ernest Lee Steere who was a Chairman of the WATC.

Early editions of the Lee Steere Stakes were over a mile but since 1938 most runnings have been at the current 1400m.

The Lee Steere Stakes was a Principal Race then Listed up to 1986 when it to Group 3. Has been Group 2 in recent renewals.

2003 running was at Belmont racecourse.

While not many in recent times, the Lee Steere Stakes/Railway Stakes double has been done on many occasions. Belle Bizarre was the most recent in 2006.

The Lee Steere Stakes is worth $250,000 in 2019.

Notable winners of the Lee Steere Stakes include Gatting (2018), Perfect Reflection (2016), Black Heart Bart (2015), Luckygray (2012), Idyllic Prince (2009), Belle Bizarre (2006), Ellicorsam (2004), Hardrada (2002), Umrum (2000), Slavonic (1999), Willoughby (1997), Jacks Or Better (1994), Fair Sir (1986), Iko (1981), Asian Beau (1979), Romantic Dream (1978), La Trice (1971/1972), Aquanita (1960),  Tarquin (1897/1898/1900) and Scarpia (1893/1894/1895).

The 2018 Lee Steere Stakes was won by Gatting from Achernar Star and Great Shot.

Racing and Sports