2020 Centenary Sprint Cup: Race History

Most of Hong Kong’s best short course horses have won the Centenary Sprint Cup which is run at Sha Tin on Sunday.

Sacred Kingdom
Sacred Kingdom Picture: HKJC

Sacred Kingdom was one of those and he took it out twice. Is there a new top liner on the scene in the 2020 Centenary Sprint Cup (1200m) at Sha Tin on Sunday?


The Centenary Sprint Cup is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for the sprinters at Sha Tin conducted by Hong Kong Jockey Club.

The Centenary Sprint Cup is run over 1200m.  It was first run in 1984 celebrating the HKJC's centenary.

It is the first leg of the Hong Kong Speed Series leading into the Queen's Silver Jubilee Cup and the Chairman's Sprint Prize.

It gained G1 status in 2018.

Some grand Hong Kong sprinters have tasted success in the race. Best Of The Best, Silent Witness, Scintillation, Sacred Kingdom, Eagle Regiment and Peniaphobia are all multiple winners.

Beat The Clock would win in 2019 and later that campaign take the Chairman's Sprint Prize.

The Centenary Sprint Cup was worth HK$10m in 2020.

Notable winners of the Centenary Sprint Cup include Aerovelocity (2016), Peniaphobia (2015/2017), Eagle Regiment (2012/2013), Sacred Kingdom (2010/2011), Absolute Champion (2008), Scintillation (2006/2007), Silent Witness (2004/2005), Grand Delight (2003), Best Of The Best (1999/2000) and Mr Vitality (1995).

The 2019 Centenary Sprint Cup was won by Beat The Clock from Mr Stunning and Winner's Way.

Racing and Sports