2020 Stewards’ Cup: Race History

Famous names at the mile distance are in the honour roll of the Stewards’ Cup run at Sha Tin on Sunday.

Able Friend winning the THE STEWARDS' CUP
Able Friend winning the THE STEWARDS' CUP Picture: HKJC

Able Friend scored in 2015 and he was a beast of a horse. Does the 2020 Stewards' Cup (1600m) at Sha Tin on Sunday provide another hero?


The Stewards' Cup is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for the milers at Sha Tin conducted by Hong Kong Jockey Club.

The Stewards' Cup is run over 1600m.  It was first run in 1954 over 1200m at Happy Valley.

It is the first leg of the Hong Kong Triple Crown leading into the Gold Cup and then the Champions & Chater Cup.

It became a mile race in 1991 and was granted HKG1 status. In 2015 it became an international G1.

In recent years, John Size has five wins in the race as a trainer while Tony Cruz has four victories.

Over the same time frame, leading jockeys are Douglas Whyte, Robbie Fradd and Basil Marcus with three apiece.

The Stewards' Cup was worth HK$10m in 2020.

Notable winners of the Stewards' Cup include Beauty Generation (2019), Helene Paragon (2017), Able Friend (2015), Blazing Speed (2014), Glorious Days (2013), Ambitious Dragon (2012), Good Ba Ba (2008/2009), Bullish Luck (2005), Super Kid (2004), Electronic Unicorn (2002/2003), Fairy King Prawn (2001) and Mr Vitality (1995).

The 2019 Stewards' Cup was won by Beauty Generation from Conte and Southern Legend.

Racing and Sports