2020 Thorndon Mile: Race History

Another of the NZ summer features is the Thorndon Mile run at Trentham on Saturday.

Alamosa winning the Toorak Hcp
Alamosa winning the Toorak Hcp Picture: Racing and Sports

Milers that have had luck over the Tasman like Alamosa took out this race so who joins him in taking the 2020 Thorndon Mile (1600m) at Trentham on Saturday?


The Thorndon Mile is a Group 1 race run under set weights and penalties conditions for milers at Trentham race course conducted by the Wellington Racing Club.

The Thorndon Mile is run over 1600m. It was first run in 1962 and was won by Starborough.

The Thorndon Mile is part of the Wellington Cup carnival in early January.

It has always been run over the mile but was known as the George Adams (Tattersalls) Handicap. It became the Thorndon Mile in 1984.

Rosie Myers has won three of the last six editions joining David Walsh and Lance O'Sullivan.

Noel Eales won five runnings between 1990 and 2001.

Both Alamosa and Wall Street won G1 miles in Melbourne later in the years of their Thorndon success.

The Thorndon Mile was worth NZ$200,000 in 2020.

Notable winners of the Thorndon Mile include Kawi (2016), Wall Street (2010), Sir Slick (2007/2009), Alamosa (2008), Giovana (2002), Pace Invader (2000), Fayreform (1998), Calm Harbour (1993), Fire Commander (1991) and McGinty (1983).

The 2019 Thorndon Mile was won by Shadows Cast from Wyndspelle and Watch This Space.

Racing and Sports