2020 Emancipation Stakes: Race History

Good mares go on from winning the Emancipation Stakes run at Rosehill on Saturday.

Hot Danish winning
Hot Danish winning Picture: Racing and Sports

Hot Danish was a mare who was loved by the fans. Is the 2020 Emancipation Stakes (1500m) at Rosehill on Saturday going to show up another high quality mare?

2020 Emancipation Stakes: Nominations


The Emancipation Stakes is a Group 2 race for fillies and mares conducted by the Australian Turf Club at Rosehill Gardens.

The Emancipation Stakes was introduced in 1985 and is run under set weight conditions with penalties. The race is named in honour of the former champion mare Emancipation.

The Emancipation Stakes was run at Randwick from 1985 until 2013 when the race distance was 1600m.

The Emancipation Stakes has been run at Rosehill since 2014 over 1500m.

The Emancipation was a Listed Race from 1985 to 1994 and Group 3 from 1995 to 1998. The Emancipation Stakes was upgraded to Group 2 status in 1999.

In a strange twist, recent years has seen back to back winners of the race. Skyerush won 2012/2013, Catkins won 2014/2015 and Zanbagh won 2016/2017.

The 2020 Emancipation Stakes was worth $200,000 in prizemoney.

Notable winners of the Emancipation Stakes include Sea Pictures, Balmoral, Ice Cream Sundae, Romanee Conti, Hysterical, Staging, Miss Zoe, Perfect Promise, Fantasia, Hot Danish, Sacred Choice, Skyerush, Catkins, Zanbagh, Prompt Response and Invincible Gem.

The 2019 Emancipation Stakes was won by Invincible Gem from Daysee Doom and Noire.

Racing and Sports