2020 Prix du Jockey Club: Race History

The Prix du Jockey Club run at Chantilly on Sunday has not produced a huge number of Arc winners through the years.

Reliable Man
Reliable Man Picture: Lesley Warwick

It did produce Reliable Man though before he was sent down under and became a lovely stallion. Can the 2020 Prix du Jockey Club (2100m) at Chantilly on Sunday find a good one?


The Prix du Jockey Club is a Group 1 race run under Set Weight conditions for three year old colts and fillies at Chantilly conducted by France Galop.

The Prix du Jockey Club is run over 2100m. It was first run in 1836 and was won by Franck.

The Prix du Jockey Club is the French Derby and the equivalent of the English version run on the same weekend.

Sottsass - Prix du Jockey Club - Chantilly 2019

Originally only available to horses bred in France, it was a 2500m and then 2400m race. In 2005 the race was shortened to 2100m.

The race was run at various courses during the War years including Moulins, Chantilly and Maisons-Laffitte and then in WWII at Longchamp and Le Tremblay.

When grading started it was a Group 1 and Assert in 1982 was the first foreign horse to win it.

Nine horses have done the Prix du Jockey Club/Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe double with Dalakhani the most recent in 2003.

Most wins as a jockey is by Yves Saint-Martin with nine and the leading trainer is Tom Jennings Snr with ten.

Jean-Claude Rouget has trained three of the last four Derby winners.

Reliable Man, by previous winner Dalakhani, would after that, be brought to Australia and under Chris Waller's tutelage win a Queen Elizabeth at Randwick.

The last non-French winner was The Grey Gatsby in 2014 for Kevin Ryan.

The Prix du Jockey Club was worth €900,000 in 2020 due to the coronavirus.

Notable winners of the Prix du Jockey Club include Almanzor (2016), New Bay (2015), Reliable Man (2011), Vision d'Etat (2008), Shamardal (2005), Dalakhani (2003), Montjeu (1999), Peintre Celebre (1997), Celtic Swing (1995), Suave Dancer (1991), Darshaan (1984), Reliance (1965), Right Royal (1961), Scratch (1950), Ardan (1944), Le Pacha (1941), Mon Talisman (1927) and Ksar (1921).

The 2019 Prix du Jockey Club was won by Sottsass from Persian King and Motamarris.

Racing and Sports