2020 July Cup: Race History

There is a long and storied history in the July Cup run at Newmarket on Saturday.


Starspangledbanner was one who we know only too well. Will there be another big name take the 2020 July Cup (1207m) at Newmarket on Saturday?


The July Cup is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for open sprinters at Newmarket conducted by the Jockey Club.

The July Cup is run over the straight six furlongs. It was first run in 1876 and was won by Springfield.

It is one of the races forming part of the Global Sprint Challenge. The July Cup is run on the July course on the final day of the July festival.

2019 Darley July Cup Stakes - Ten Sovereigns

In 1971 it was classified as a Group 2 and in 1978 was upgraded.

One of the richest sprints in Europe, it often provides the elite sprinter of the season.

Because it is a tough course with the strong uphill run over the last furlong, the three year olds need to be the best around to score. They have only won 6 of the last 16 but have won the last 3. In fact in 2019 there were five 3yos in the race and they filled the first five spots.

Often a pointer to the breeding game, some influential sires have won this before taking up stud duties. They include Oasis Dream, Agnes World, Stravinsky, Elnadim, Anabaa, Lake Coniston, Royal Academy, Cadeaux Genereux and Soviet Star.

In 2003 Oasis Dream won the July Cup, turning the tables on Choisir from a clash at Royal Ascot. He tracked Choisir all the way and grabbed him up the rise.

Another Australian sprinter Starspangledbanner, ironically by Choisir, was transferred to Ballydoyle and Aidan O'Brien got him to win the Golden Jubilee and the July Cup. He was just able to hang on in 2010.

In 2017, Harry Angel proved his class with a powerful effort and backed it up with the Sprint Cup win seven weeks later.

U S Navy Flag won the July Cup after being tried as a miler and then headed to Australia to run in the Everest for Coolmore. Ten Sovereigns was in the same boat in 2019 but he too struggled.

Leading trainers are Charles Morton, Vincent O'Brien and Aidan O'Brien with five victories. Most wins as a jockey is by Lester Piggott with an amazing ten.

The July Cup was worth £250,000 in 2020.

Notable winners of the July Cup include Ten Sovereigns (2019), Harry Angel (2017), Limato (2016), Muhaarar (2015), Slade Power (2014), Dream Ahead (2011), Starspangledbanner (2010), Sakhee's Secret (2007), Les Arcs (2006), Oasis Dream (2003), Agnes World (2000), Stravinsky (1999), Elnadim (1998), Anabaa (1996), Lake Coniston (1995), Royal Academy (1990), Cadeaux Genereux (1989), Soviet Star (1988), Green Desert (1986), Saritamer (1974), Right Boy (1958/1959), Pappa Fourway (1955), Abernant (1949/1950), The Bug (1946), Diadem (1919/1920), Spanish Prince (1912/1913), Sundridge (1902/1903/1904), Ormonde (1887), Charibert (1880/1881) and Springfield (1876/1877).

The 2019 July Cup was won by Ten Sovereigns from Advertise and Fairyland.

Racing and Sports