2020 Tattersalls Gold Cup: Race History

Big names line the page of the Tattersalls Gold Cup run at the Curragh on Friday.

So You Think
So You Think Picture: Coolmore

The great So You Think won it twice when with Aidan O'Brien. Which leading WFA horse will step up in the 2020 Tattersalls Gold Cup (2112m) at Curragh on Friday?


The Tattersalls Gold Cup is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for four year olds and older at the Curragh conducted by the Curragh Racecourse for Horse Racing Ireland.

The Tattersalls Gold Cup is run over a mile and 2½ furlongs. It was first run in 1962 and was won by T V.

It was originally known as the Ballymoss Stakes after the multiple G1 winner of the 1950s.

2019 Tattersalls Gold Cup

After being open to three year olds, it was upped to four year olds and up from 1985.

After being a G2 initially, it became a G1 in 1999.

Three horses have won two Tattersalls Gold Cup – Yankee Gold, So You Think and Al Kazeem.

Following his sale to Coolmore, Australian champion So You Think scored his first overseas G1 in this race in 2011 beating only four rivals.

Magical won the race in May 2019 and was still winning at the end of Autumn in the Champion Stakes.

The leading trainers are Aidan O'Brien with eight and Dermot Weld with six and most wins as a jockey is by Michael Kinane with six.

The Tattersalls Gold Cup was worth €250,000 in 2020.

Notable winners of the Tattersalls Gold Cup include Magical (2019), Al Kazeem (2013/2015), Noble Mission (2014), So You Think (2011/2012), Fame And Glory (2010), Duke Of Marmalade (2008), Notnowcato (2007), Hurricane Run (2006), Fantastic Light (2001), Montjeu (2000), Daylami (1998), Opera House (1992), Golden Fleece (1982), Dickens Hill (1979) and Yankee Gold (1976/1977).

The 2019 Tattersalls Gold Cup was won by Magical from Flag Of Honour and Mustajeer.

Racing and Sports