2020 Winter Challenge: Race History

The Race History of the Winter Challenge run at Rosehill on Saturday shows it a competitive race.

SEAWAY winning the Maldives Travel Winter Challenge
SEAWAY winning the Maldives Travel Winter Challenge Picture: Steve Hart

The Waller stable have a superb record including Seaway last year. Can they do it again in the 2020 Winter Challenge (1500m) at Rosehill on Saturday?

2020 Winter Challenge: Nominations


The Winter Challenge is a Listed race run under Handicap conditions for open class horses at Rosehill conducted by the Australian Turf Club.

The Winter Challenge is run over 1500m and is the last black type race of the season in Sydney.

It was first run in 2011 and won by Foreteller.

The 2012 running of the Winter Challenge was over a mile at Warwick Farm but those since have been 1500m at Rosehill.

Following his Winter Challenge victory in 2014, He's Your Man won the G1 Epsom Handicap three runs later.

Chris Waller has won six of the nine runnings of the race but most for the jockeys is Jason Collett with three.

Marenostro has carried the most weight at 56.5kg.

The 2020 Winter Challenge was run for prizemoney of $150,000.

Winners of the Winter Challenge are Foreteller (2011), Spinnawitch (2012), Coup Ay Tee (2013), He's Your Man (2014), Keepit To Yourself (2015), Marenostro (2016), Shiraz (2017), Mister Sea Wolf (2018) and Seaway (2019).

The 2019 Winter Challenge was won by Seaway from Goodfella and Eckstein.

Racing and Sports