2020 Prix Rothschild: Race History

A French champion is the highlight mare in the history of the Prix Rothschild run at Deauville on Sunday.

LAURENS Picture: (Alan Crowhurst/Getty Images)

Goldikova won it four times in a row. What will the 2020 Prix Rothschild (1600m) at Deauville on Sunday bring?


The Prix Rothschild is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for fillies and mares at Deauville conducted by France Galop.

The Prix Rothschild is run over 1600m. It was first run in 1929 and was won by Tivoli.

Being a mares race, the Prix Rothschild was originally the Prix d'Astarte with Astarte a fertility goddess.

PRIX ROTHSCHILD 2019 | Laurens | Deauville | Groupe 1

In 2008 the race was given the name Prix Rothschild after Guy de Rothschild, the renowned banker and breeder.

When grading was introduced in 1971, it was a Group 3. In 1982 it was a G2 and from 2004 a G1.

The race was not run in 1940 during WWII and a few times afterwards. In those war years it was run at Longchamp and Le Tremblay.

In the last 20 years, fillies have won it 11 times and mares 9 times.

Most wins as a jockey is with Freddy Head and Olivier Peslier with six apiece.

Five trainers share most wins with five victories – John Cunnington Snr, Francois Mathet, David Smaga, Andre Fabre and Freddy Head.

The great French mare Goldikova won the race in four consecutive years starting from 2008.

Top mare Laurens made it six G1 wins in taking the race in 2019.

The last non-French winner was Laurens in 2019 for Karl Burke.

The Prix Rothschild was worth €150,000 in 2020 reduced by coronavirus.

Notable winners of the Prix Rothschild include Laurens (2019), Roly Poly (2017), Qemah (2016), Amazing Maria (2015), Esoterique (2014), Elusive Kate (2012/2013), Goldikova (2008/2009/2010/2011), Mandesha (2006), Divine Proportions (2005), Hatoof (1994), Luth Enchantee (1983) and Sanedtki (1977).

The 2019 Prix Rothschild was won by Laurens from With You and Obligate.

Racing and Sports