2020 Geelong Cup: Race History

Some famous names have formed part of the Race History of the Geelong Cup run at Geelong on Wednesday.

Americain winning the Zipping Classic
Americain winning the Zipping Classic Picture: Racing and Sports

Americain won the Cup then a bigger one after that. Will the 2020 Geelong Cup (2400m) at Geelong on Wednesday provide another?

2020 Geelong Cup: Nominations


The Geelong Cup is a Group 3 race run under Handicap conditions for open age stayers at Geelong conducted by the Geelong Racing Club.

The Geelong Cup is run over 2400m. It was first run in 1872 and was won by Flying Scud.

It has been run over varying distances from two miles at the beginning to as short as one mile a century ago. For the last 50 years it has been at the mile and a half.

The Geelong Cup was a Principal Race until being Listed up to 2001 then upgraded at Group 3 from 2002.

Several horses heading to the Melbourne Cup had run well in Geelong Cups in the 80s and 90s but the race all changed in 2002.

Internationals trained or bred horses have had a field day since the turn of the century.

Dermot Weld won the Melbourne Cup with Vintage Crop and he did it again in 2002 with Media Puzzle who got his way into the race via Geelong.

Zazzman won in 2003 and placed at Flemington 12 months later. On A Jeune also won at Geelong and placed behind Makybe Diva in her third Cup.

Bauer did the job at Geelong then famously lost by the smallest margin to Viewed in 2008.

Then it was the turn of the French as Americain and Dunaden went back to back here and at Flemington.

Qewy was another horse to win from overseas for Godolphin this time. Then Prince Of Arran scored in fast time in 2019 and got a 1kg penalty to get into the Melbourne Cup where he'd run second.

Karasi became known as a champion jumper winning three Nakayama Grand Jumps but before that in 2001 he won the Geelong Cup and ran fourth in the Melbourne Cup.

The Geelong Cup was worth $400,000 in 2020.

Notable winners of the Geelong Cup include Prince Of Arran (2019), Qewy (2016), Dunaden (2011), Americain (2010), Bauer (2008), On A Jeune (2005), Zazzman (2003), Media Puzzle (2002), Karasi (2001), Bohemiath (1999), Mr Brooker (1990), Pacific Mirage/Sea Legend (1989), Koiro Corrie May (1985), Chagemar (1984) and Allez Bijou (1981).

The 2019 Geelong Cup was won by Prince Of Arran from True Self and Haky.

Racing and Sports