SA racing season to begin at Gawler

Gawler will kick off the 2021-22 South Australian racing season after the postponement of Sunday’s opener at Port Augusta.

After busy end to the 2020-21 season with four meetings in four days, SA will host another four meetings in five days to start the new season.

Wednesday's Gawler meeting gets things rolling before the rescheduled Port Augusta meeting on Friday. Metropolitan racing begins at Murray Bridge on Saturday and then things swing to the South East with racing at Bordertown on Sunday.

Racing make a long-awaited return at Glenburnie racecourse in Mount Gambier later in the year while official jump-outs will be held at Port Lincoln in the lead-up to their season opener in October.

The Spring Stakes, won by Behemoth in 2020, and likely to feature last year's winner alongside Cox Plate aspirant Dalasan, will be the first feature of the new season at Morphettville on August 14 before the Leon Macdonald Stakes is run on the Parks later that month.

Balaklava will host their Cup meeting on Wednesday, September 15 before the country cup action moves to Murray Bridge on Friday, October 15. The Gawler Cup will be held a week later on Friday, October 22.

The two-day Kangaroo Island Cup Carnival will be the focus in February before the Adelaide Cup will be run and won on Monday, March 14 at Morphettville.

The feature Oakbank Easter meeting will be run a touch of a month later on April 16 as the Adelaide Racing Carnival approaches.

The Group 3 Irwin and Redelva Stakes will be run at Morphettville on April 23 before things go into a top gear with the running of the Chairman's Stakes at Morphettville a week later before the three big days of Group 1 racing.

The three-week carnival starts with a Group 1 double of the Sangster Stakes and Australasian Oaks for the ladies at Morphettville on May 7, the three-year-old's on show in South Australian Derby on May 14 before the carnival culminates with the Group 1 Goodwood at Morphettville on May 21.

Racing and Sports