2021 Chipping Norton Stakes: Race History

The Race History of the Chipping Norton Stakes run at Randwick on Saturday shows it has been a race for the champs.

Winx winning the Tab Chipping Norton Stakes
Winx winning the Tab Chipping Norton Stakes Picture: Racing and Sports

Winx is the best of them all winning it four times. Who adds their name to that honour roll in the 2021 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) at Randwick on Saturday?

2021 Chipping Norton Stakes: Nominations


The Chipping Norton Stakes is a Group 1 race conducted by the Australian Turf Club as a feature of the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

The Chipping Norton Stakes was first run in 1925 at Warwick Farm and is named after the suburb that borders that racecourse in western Sydney.

The Chipping Norton Stakes is run under weight-for-age conditions for horses three years and older over 1600m and draws top class performers preparing for other Group One races at the Sydney Autumn Carnival.

2020 Chipping Norton Stakes - Te Akau Shark

The Chipping Norton Stakes was originally run over 10 furlongs (2000m) from 1925 until 1972. It was then extended to 2100m until 1979 before shortened to its current distance of 1600m in 1980.

Warwick Farm is the traditional home of the Chipping Norton Stakes but the race was run at Randwick from 1939 until 1952 due to the Second World War and the later use of Warwick Farm for military purposes.

In recent years due to changes to the autumn carnival agenda the Chipping Norton Stakes has been run at Randwick in 1992, 2001, 2008, 2009, 2016 - onwards.

The Chipping Norton Stakes attained Group 2 status in 1980 and became a Group 1 race in 1986. It is traditionally the first Group 1 race of the Sydney Autumn.

The late TJ (Tommy) Smith trained ten winners of the Chipping Norton Stakes between 1957 and 1982. His daughter Gai Waterhouse has trained six Chipping Norton Stakes winners and Chris Waller has won the race eight times (from the last ten runnings as well).

The 2021 Chipping Norton was worth $600,000.

The Chipping Norton Stakes is a major prep for the G1 Doncaster Mile, G1 Ranvet Stakes, G1 Tancred Stakes, G1 Sydney Cup and numerous other G1 races during the carnival.

Few G1s have horses capable of winning four in a row but Tie The Knot and Winx have both done it in this race.

The last 3YO to win the Chipping Norton Stakes was He's No Pie Eater in 2007. The last 3YO filly to win the Chipping Norton Stakes was Heat Of The Moment in 1986.

Winx in 2016 became the first mare to win the Chipping Norton Stakes since Emancipation in 1984. She backed it up three times.

Winx became the first Cox Plate winner to win the Chipping Norton in the same season since 1949 (Carbon Copy was that only other horse to do it).

Before Winx in 2016, the previous winner of the Chipping Norton to go on to win the Doncaster Mile was Pharaoh in 1995.

Starcraft (2004) is the last non-Sydney trained winner prior to Te Akau Shark.

Before Te Akau Shark, the last winner from a Kiwi based trainer – Kingston Bay (1993) for Bruce Wallace.

There have been ten multiple winners of the Chipping Norton Stakes -  three-time winner Lough Neagh, Katanga, Carbon Copy, Carioca, Tulloch, Apollo Eleven, Super Impose, four-time winner Tie The Knot, Shoot Out and now Winx with four.

Other notable winners of the Chipping Norton Stakes include Amounis, Phar Lap, Tranquil Star, Bernborough, Comic Court, Delta, Sky High, Prince Grant, General Command, Rain Lover, Gay Icarus, Igloo, Taras Bulba, Dalmacia, Rising Prince, Our Waverley Star, Dr Grace, Pharaoh, Juggler, Octagonal, Lonhro, Starcraft, Grand Armee, Desert War, Tuesday Joy, Boban and Te Akau Shark.

The 2020 Chipping Norton Stakes was won by Te Akau Shark from Verry Elleegant and Fierce Impact.

Racing and Sports