2021 AD Hollindale Stakes: Race History

Many an elite horse has won the AD Hollindale Stakes run at Gold Coast on Saturday.

Rough Habit with John Wheeler Pic Courtesy of Spiros Poros.
Rough Habit with John Wheeler Pic Courtesy of Spiros Poros. Picture: various (provided)

Rough Habit was a star in Queensland and he is part of this race's history. Will another kiwi etch their name in the 2021 AD Hollindale Stakes (1800m) at Gold Coast on Saturday?

2021 AD Hollindale Stakes: Nominations


The A D Hollindale Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race conducted by Queensland's Gold Coast Turf Club as a feature of its premier May race meeting.

The AD Hollindale Stakes, named after a former chairman of the GCTC, was first run in in 1989 as the Southport Cup to serve as major lead-up to the Doomben and Brisbane Cups.

It has been known as the AD Hollindale Stakes since 1993 and used to be run midweek but moved to the main Gold Coast feature day on the Saturday.

The distance has been 1800m since its inception and was run as a Listed race from 1990-1992. The Hollindale Stakes was Group 3 from 1993-1996 and has been a Group 2 race since 1997.

The same horse has won the Hollindale Stakes-Doomben Cup double in the same year 10 times – Rough Habit (1991-92); Durbridge (1994), Danewin (1995), Might And Power (1998), Mr Bureaucrat (2002), Bush Padre (2003), Above Deck (2006), Metal Bender (2010) and Streama (2014).

The best winner was Might And Power on his way to the Doomben Cup. He trotted in by nearly six lengths.

Only five mares have won the Hollindale Stakes (Melora, Shez Sinsational, Lights Of Heaven, Streama, Oregon's Day) and four three-year-old (Danewin, Super Slew, Summer Beau and Shogun Lodge).

The 2021 AD Hollindale Stakes was run for prizemoney of $500,000.

The 2020 edition was cancelled due to the coronavirus.

Notable winners of the AD Hollindale Stakes include dual winners Rough Habit (1991-92), Shogun Lodge (2000-01) and Leebaz (2015-16), Eye Of The Sky, Hunter, Durbridge, Danewin, Might And Power, Melora, Platinum Scissors, Above Deck, Scenic Shot, Metal Bender, My Kingdom Of Fife, Lights Of Heaven, Streama and It's Somewhat.

The 2019 Hollindale Stakes was won by Life Less Ordinary from Mister Sea Wolf and Hallelujah Boy.

Racing and Sports