2021 SA Sires Produce: Race History

Some winners in the Race History of the SA Sires Produce run at Morphettville on Saturday have gone onto bigger success.

Go Indy Go winning the Moet & Chandon Champagne Stks
Go Indy Go winning the Moet & Chandon Champagne Stks Picture: Racing and Sports

Go Indy Go won a G1 race so the 2021 SA Sires Produce (1400m) at Morphettville on Saturday might be a race to watch.

2021 SA Sires Produce: Nominations


The SA Sires' Produce Stakes is a Group 3 race for two-year-olds conducted at Morphettville by the South Australian Jockey Club.

The SA Sires' Produce Stakes, first run in 1945, is run under set weights conditions and has varied in distance over the years from seven furlongs/1400m to one mile/1600m.

From 1945-1959 the distance was a mile; from 1960-1965 seven furlongs; from 1966-1972 one mile; and from 1973-2009 1600m.

Since 2010 the distance has been 1400m.

Held every year since 1945 at Morphettville, the SA Sires' Produce Stakes was a Group 2 race from 1979-1991 and has been Group 3 since 1992.

Go Indy Go won the Sires in 2014 and then headed to Sydney where she won the Champagne Stakes.

The 2021 SA Sires' Produce Stakes was run over 1400m for prizemoney of $127,250.

Notable winners of the SA Sires' Produce Stakes include Norwich, Comedy Prince, Regal Gem, Wine Lover, Royal Artist, Proud Miss, Yangtze, Farmer's Daughter, Always There, Eleazar, Bush Win, Zasu, Rondelay, Tristabelle, Almurtajaz, Interstellar, Umrum, Lashed, Rebel Raider and Go Indy Go.

The 2020 SA Sires' Produce Stakes was won by Ringbolt from Violinist and Crown Mint.

Racing and Sports