2021 South Australian Derby: Race History

Very famous names are in the Race History of the South Australian Derby run at Morphettville on Saturday.

Subzero Picture: Steve Hart

Subzero won a Derby and Cup before his biggest win at Flemington so will the 2021 South Australian Derby (2500m) at Morphettville on Saturday produce more Cup runners?

2021 South Australian Derby: Nominations


The South Australian Derby is a Group 1 race for three year olds conducted by the South Australian Jockey Club at Morphettville.

The South Australian Derby was first run in 1860 and was won by Midnight.

The South Australian Derby is run over 2500m under Set Weights conditions.

2020 South Australian Derby - Russian Camelot

Fillies don't run often but when they do they are usually competitive (Qafila, Delicacy, Scratchy Bottom/Zarita/Showella/Mapperley Heights/English Wonder) have run well when contesting.

Over the year's Bart Cummings was the hero of the training ranks with ten wins. Cliff Brown had a run of three in six years some 20 years ago. Darren Weir trained three winners of the Derby in a row as well.

Ben Melham, Greg Childs and Danny Nikolic have a couple of wins each in the last 20 years but the jockeys have shared it around.

Tails of Triomphe won the 2005 SA Derby despite never having previously set foot on a metropolitan racetrack to race in eleven starts.

The Derby has produced some decent Melbourne Cup form over the years.

Russian Camelot won brilliantly coming from last in 2020. He was a European bred youngster so gave away six months in experience to his rivals. He was a big player the following Spring too becoming the first SA Derby winner in a long time to win an open age G1 (Underwood Stakes).

The 2021 edition was run for prize money of $502,250.

Notable winners of the South Australian Derby include Gatum Gatum (1961), Ziema (1964), Shiva's Revenge (1991), Subzero (1992), Count Chivas (1995), Showella (1999), Mummify (2003), Rebel Raider (2009), Delicacy (2015), Russian Camelot (2020).

The 2020 South Australian Derby was won by Russian Camelot from Dalasan and Warning.

Racing and Sports