2021 Prix Niel: Race History

The Prix Niel run at Longchamp on Sunday was called off last year with all the programming changes.

SOTTSASS Picture: Alan Crowhurst/Getty Images

When last run it was won by a rather decent horse called Sottsass. Can the 2021 Prix Niel (2400m) at Longchamp on Sunday provide Arc form lines this year?


The Prix Niel is a Group 2 race run under Set Weight conditions for three year old colts and fillies at Longchamp conducted by France Galop.

The Prix Niel is run over 2400m. It was first run in 1953 and was won by Shikampur. An original version of the race was known as the Prix de Chantilly.

It was initially at Chantilly at 3100m for open ages but moved to Longchamp. It changed to be for 3yos when the Prix Foy was introduced in 1955 becoming the race for all comers.

Qatar Prix Niel 2019 | Sottsass | ParisLongchamp | Groupe 2

Renamed after Gaston Niel from Société d'Encouragement, it was a Group 3 but was upgraded in 1987.

The race is part of Arc Trial day run three weeks prior to the Arc meeting. It was not conducted in 2020 due to the coronavirus delays and the movement of the G1 Grand Prix de Paris to the same day.

Rail Link in 2006 is the last horse to do the Prix Niel/Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe double.

In 2011 Reliable Man won the Niel and then 18 months on went to Chris Waller where he would win a Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Randwick before retiring with an injury.

Sottsass came back off a break to win the Prix Niel after winning the Prix du Jockey Club. A year later he won the Ganay and the Arc.

The 2016 and 2017 editions were run at Chantilly as Longchamp was under its long term redevelopment.

Yves Saint-Martin and Freddy Head have most wins as a jockey with four. Andre Fabre has most training wins at eleven.

The last non-French winner was Brundtland in 2018 for Charlie Appleby.

The Prix Niel was worth €130,000 in 2021.

Notable winners of the Prix Niel include Sottsass (2019), Cracksman (2017), New Bay (2015), Ectot (2014), Reliable Man (2011), Vision d'Etat (2008), Rail Link (2006), Hurricane Run (2005), Dalakhani (2003), Sinndar (2000), Montjeu (1999), Sagamix (1998), Helissio (1996), Carnegie (1994), Subotica (1991), Golden Pheasant (1989), Trempolino (1987), Sagace (1983) and Vaguely Noble (1968).

The 2019 Prix Niel was won by Sottsass from Mutamakina and Mohawk.

Racing and Sports