2022 Chairman’s Stakes: Race History

Does the Derby winner run in the Chairman’s Stakes run at Morphettville on Saturday?

Rebel Raider winning the A A M I Victoria Derby
Rebel Raider winning the A A M I Victoria Derby Picture: Racing and Sports

It isn't done that often with Rebel Raider one to achieve that. The 2022 Chairman's Stakes (2000m) at Morphettville on Saturday could still be a pointer.


The Chairman's Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds conducted by the South Australian Jockey Club at Morphettville in Adelaide.

The Chairman's Stakes is run under set weights conditions and was introduced in 1983 as a preliminary to the G1 South Australian Derby.

The distance has varied from 1850m to 2250m with the venue alternating between Morphettville and the now closed Victoria Park and Cheltenham courses from 1983 to 2002. Since 2003 the Chairman's Stakes has been run at Morphettville.

The Chairman's Stakes became a Listed Race in 1982 and was upgraded to Group 3 in 2011.

The 2022 Chairman's Stakes was run over 2000m for prizemoney of $127,250.

Notable winners of the Chairman's Stakes include Joly God Thought, Double Gin, Our Marquise, Markham, Bush Padre, Mummify, Roll On Royce, Family Guy, Zagreb, Rebel Raider, Red Colossus, Gamblin' Guru, Howard Be Thy Name and Dalasan.

Five horses have won the Chairman's–SA Derby double - Markham (1997), Mummify (2003), Rebel Raider (2009), Howard Be Thy Name (2016) and Leicester (2018).

The 2021 Chairman's Stakes was won by Royal Mile from Montepulciano and Shebringzit.

Racing and Sports