2022 Hawkesbury Crown: Race History

Which of the mares gets the big prize of the Hawkesbury Crown run at Hawkesbury on Saturday?

Shillelagh winning the 2017 Godolphin Crown
Shillelagh winning the 2017 Godolphin Crown Picture: Racing and Sports

Shillelagh went on to G1 glory afterwards. Is there another like her in the 2022 Hawkesbury Crown (1300m) at Hawkesbury on Saturday?

2022 Hawkesbury Crown: Nominations


The Hawkesbury Crown is a Group 3 race for fillies and mares conducted by the Hawkesbury Race Club at Clarendon racecourse, located 50km west of Sydney between Windsor and Richmond.

The Hawkesbury Crown was introduced in 2006 and is run under set weight and penalty conditions over 1300m as a feature of the Hawkesbury Race Club's stand alone Saturday race meeting in April.

The Hawkesbury Crown became a Listed race in 2011 and was promoted to Group 3 in 2014.

It was sponsored by Sheikh Mohammed as the Darley Crown (2011-15) and Godolphin Crown (2016-18).

It was run at Rosehill in 2020 due to the restrictions after the coronavirus outbreak.

The 2022 Hawkesbury Crown was worth prizemoney of $175,000.

Notable winners of the Hawkesbury Crown include More Strawberries, dual winner Aerobatics, Solicit, Nancy, Pecans, Sweet Deal and Shillelagh who'd win a G1 in the following Spring.

In 2015 the Hawkesbury stand alone meeting was abandoned after the first race due to track conditions. The Hawkesbury Crown was postponed to the following week at Rosehill when the winner was Solicit.

The 2021 Hawkesbury Crown was won by Sweet Deal from Jen Rules and Air To Air.

Racing and Sports