2022 Robert Sangster Stakes: Race History

A season highlight is the only mares shorter course G1 sprint being the Robert Sangster Stakes run at Morphettville on Saturday.

Black Caviar winning the Sportingbet Robert Sangster
Black Caviar winning the Sportingbet Robert Sangster Picture: Racing and Sports

Black Caviar went around for fun in this so the 2022 Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m) at Morphettville on Saturday has something to live up to.

2022 Robert Sangster Stakes: Nominations


The Robert Sangster Stakes is a Group 1 race for fillies and mares conducted by the South Australian Jockey Club at Morphettville.

It was a G3 as the Swettenham Stud Stakes but was eventually elevated to G1 status in 2005 won by Alinghi.

The Robert Sangster Stakes was first run in 1983 and was won by Ranee's Palace.

2020 Robert Sangster Stakes - Bella Vella

The Robert Sangster Stakes is run over 1200m under Weight For Age conditions. It was run as Set Weights and Penalties until 1990. It is registered as the Swettenham Stud Stakes.

Three year olds hadn't been having a great run with no winners since Rostova in 2010 until Shoals in 2018.

Mick Price has three wins as a trainer with Lee Freedman three while the jockeys have spread it around as Damien Oliver has most with three winners.

Fillies often go on to run in the other feature G1 sprint the Goodwood Handicap a fortnight later. Platelet (2013) and Black Caviar (2012) have done the double.

Shoals had won the Surround Stakes before taking this race out. She returned in the Spring and was slotted into the Everest running favourite but didn't handle the wet surface.

Lee Freedman won the first three runnings at G1 level and had Miss Andretti heavily odds on but she faded away.

The 2022 edition was worth $502,250.

Notable winners of the Robert Sangster Stakes include Leica Western (1990), With Me (1991), Dantelah (1999), Our Egyptian Raine (2003), Alinghi (2005), Black Caviar (2012), Miracles Of Life (2015), Shoals (2018) and Spright (2019).

The 2021 Robert Sangster Stakes was won by Instant Celebrity from Subpoenaed and Rubisaki.

Racing and Sports