2022 Roma Cup: Race History

Some well-known sprinters have won the Roma Cup run at Belmont on Saturday.

Vega Magic winning the Big Screen Co Bletchingly Stks
Vega Magic winning the Big Screen Co Bletchingly Stks Picture: Racing and Sports

Vega Magic won it on top of his bigger triumphs so watch the 2022 Roma Cup (1200m) at Belmont on Saturday.


The Roma Cup is a Group 3 race for open sprinters conducted by Perth Racing at Belmont in Perth.

The Roma Cup was first run in 1966 and was won by Summer Storm.

It is run over 1200m under Weight For Age conditions.

The Roma Cup is the first of a series of WFA races during the winter in Perth. The Belmont Sprint, Hyperion Stakes and Strickland Stakes follow.

The Roma Cup was a Principal race until 1980 then became a Group 3.

The 2022 Roma Cup was worth $200,000 in prize money.

Fred Kersley, Jim Taylor and Trevor Andrews have won three times while Paul Harvey has ridden the winner of the race four times.

The 2020 race included three G1 winners and multiple other stakes performers as old Vega Magic returned to his winnings ways in a blanket finish.

Earlier winners include Clear Mak (1973/1974), Tangiers (1980/1981), Wild Side (1982/1983), Miss Muffet (1988), Doctor Golly (1992/1993), Wabasso (1994), Defensive Play (1995), Singing The Blues (1997), Tribula (2003), Modem (2004), El Presidente (2008), Grand Nirvana (2009/2011), Luckygray (2012/2015), Magnifisio (2014), Rock Magic (2017/2018) and Vega Magic (2020).

The 2021 Roma Cup was won by Money Matters from Elite Street and Dance Music.

Racing and Sports