NZ Briefs for 14th August 2019

Further Horse of the Year finalists announced; Delay to Humidor’s return; Kiwis included for 2020 All-Star Mile; Rodmor Trust Lecture Series

Further Horse of the Year finalists announced

Five breeding entities are in contention for the 2019 New Zealand Breeder of the Year award.

The winner will be announced at the New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards dinner, at the Ellerslie racecourse, on Sunday, September 8.

All the finalists for Breeder of the Year bred at least one Group I winner and most were represented by multiple Group winners.

Garry Chittick and Waikato Stud, the 2018 winners, are in contention again, after breeding the Group I winners Madison County and Savvy Coup and 13 other stakes winners.

Archer Equine, which is operated by David Archer and his family, has only a small broodmare band but was represented by the dual Group I winner Bostonian and the Group II winner Emily Margaret.

Wellfield Lodge principal Bill Gleeson bred two Group winners, including the Group I winner On The Rocks, and three other Group-placed horses.

Auckland breeder Don Goodwin owns just one broodmare, but she is the dam of VerryElleegant, who won two Group I races in Australia, including the Australian Oaks.

Greg Tomlinson's Nearco Stud bred the outstanding Hong Kong galloper Beauty Generation and two other Group winners. Beauty Generation, who is rated among the top five gallopers in the world this year, was undefeated in eight starts in the past season, including four Group I wins.

The dams of Beauty Generation, Madison County and the five-time Group I winner Melody Belle are the finalists for the Eight Carat Broodmare of the Year award.

New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing has also announced the finalists for New Zealand Strapper of the Year and the NZTR Media Award.

Breeder of the Year: Archer Equine, Garry Chittick and Waikato Stud and partners, W J Gleeson and WJ Bloodstock, Don Goodwin, Nearco Stud.

Eight Carat Broodmare of the Year: Meleka Belle (dam of Melody Belle), Red Delicious (dam of Madison County), Stylish Bel (dam of Beauty Generation).

NZTR Media Award:   Boys Get Paid, Des Coppins, Isola Racing Stables, Mark Nowell, Aidan Rodley, Paul Vettise.

Strapper of the Year -sponsored by Chris Waller Racing:  Northern region: Cherie Beddis (Team Rogerson); Central: Alistair Murray (RoydonBergerson); Southern: Brittany Moore (Pitman Racing).

Delay to Humidor's return

Multiple Group One winner Humidor will bypass Saturday's Gr.2 PB Lawrence Stakes (1400m) in favour of resuming in the Gr.1 New Zealand Bloodstock Memsie Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield on August 31.

Humidor has not been seen at the races since October last year when he was injured in the Gr.1 Cox Plate (2040m).

"We just thought he'd be better (placed in the Memsie)," co-trainer CiaronMaher said. "We whacked him in there (the entries for Saturday's Lawrence Stakes) to see how it would go."

The New Zealand-bred and part-owned galloper won the Memsie Stakes in 2018 after an unplaced run in the PB Lawrence Stakes.

Kiwis included for 2020 All-Star Mile

Several changes for the 2020 running of the All-Star Mile (1600m) have been announced, including the eligibility of New Zealanders for the public vote.

Prize money for the All-Star Mile, which will be run at Caulfield in March with 15 runners, will remain at A$5m though the allocation of the prizemoney has been changed, affecting the lower placed horses.

The top 10 horses from a public vote will gain automatic entry, and there are to be two 'win-and-you're in' races - The Gr.1 Futurity Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield and the Gr.2 Blamey Stakes (1600m) at Flemington.

"We were delighted with the passion shown for the race by the Australian public in its inaugural year and we've taken our time since to consider the various feedback we've received on how we can make The All-Star Mile 2020 even better," RV executive general manager of racing Greg Carpenter said.

"We're excited to announce that we'll be allowing racing fans in New Zealand the opportunity to also vote for their favourite horse to gain a start in The All-Star Mile."

Nominations for The All-Star Mile 2020 will open in December, with voting to begin in January.

Rodmor Trust Lecture Series

Registrations are now open for the 2019 Rodmor Trust Lecture Series.

Held at five venues across New Zealand in late August and early September, the series will focus on "How can I fix my injured equine star".

Internationally recognised veterinarians Professor Wayne McIlwraith and Dr Lucy Kamm will discuss different treatments available including stem cells and related therapies.

McIlwraith is a leader in the field of equine orthopaedic research and surgery. He consults worldwide as a specialist equine surgeon and has made significant strides in advancing the Colorado State University's Orthopaedic Research Centre's reputation through publications, presentations and fundraising.

Kamm is a registered surgeon at Veterinary Associates in Karaka. She has vast international experience including completing an internship at the world-renowned Rood and Riddle Equine Hospital in Kentucky. Lacy also completed post-graduate work at Cornell University in New York researching stem cells as treatment for orthopaedic diseases.

Dates are as follows:
Tuesday August 27- NZB Sales complex, Karaka
Wednesday August 28- University of Waikato, Hamilton
Thursday August 29- Addington Raceway, Christchurch
Friday August 30- Ascot Park Racecourse, Invercargill
Monday September 2- Awapuni Racecourse, Palmerston North

For more information or to register go to

NZ Racing News