Wizard pips Aussie boats for sailing award

The overall winner of the 2016 Sydney to Hobart has pipped both Wild Oats XI and the Australian SailGP team for Boat of the year at the World Sailing awards

Nine-time Sydney to Hobart line honours winner and the triumphant Australian SailGP crew have lost out to a former Sydney to a Hobart handicap victor for Team of the Year at the World Sailing awards.

The two Australian yachts and European boat Alinghi were beaten by Wizard, who took overall honours in the 2016 Sydney to Hobart, when it was called Giacomo.

The boat returned to the race the following year when it finished fourth as Wizard, under the ownership of Americans David and Peter Askew,

Wizard has enjoyed an incredible year in 2019 taking handicap honours in the RORC Caribbean 600 Trophy, the West to East Transat Race and the Fastnet Race.

Australian Will Oxley has been one of their crew members.

Supermaxi Wild Oats XI extended its record line honours tally in the Sydney to Hobart by winning in 2018 and will look for a tenth victory in the 75th edition of the race in December.

The Australian SailGP team, skippered by Tom Slingsby won the inaugural series when it beat the Japanese boat, helmed by another 2012 Olympic gold medallist, Nathan Outteridge, in a US$1million ($A1.4m) match race in Marseilles in September.

The F50 used by all six teams in the SailGP series won the Boat of the Year award, for which Australia's 2017 Sydney to Hobart overall winner Ichi Ban was also nominated..

Italian Marco Gradoni and Dane Anne-Marie Rindom won the Sailor of the Year awards.