Sky Blues dominate PFA team of the season

Five of the 16 players in the PFA's A-League team of the season hailed from premiers Sydney FC, while Melbourne City marksman Jamie Maclaren was named captain.

JAMIE MACLAREN. Picture: Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

Melbourne City striker Jamie Maclaren has been named captain of a PFA A-League team of the season dominated by premiers Sydney FC.

Golden Boot winner Maclaren scored 22 regular-season goals and received more votes from his contemporaries than any other player.

"It's truly humbling and it's an amazing feeling to be voted by the players you play against and it's just a truly amazing feeling to be a part of this team," Maclaren said.

Five Sky Blues were named in the 16-man squad ahead of their grand final against Maclaren's City on Sunday.

Rhyan Grant, Alex Wilkinson, Luke Brattan and Adam Le Fondre were in the starting XI while Milos Ninkovic was on the bench.

Wellington were the second-most prolific with Ulises Davila and Liberato Cacace in the starting line-up and captain Steven Taylor a substitute.

Adelaide had three players in the squad while Western United duo Alessandro Diamanti and Besart Berisha were in the starting line-up.

Wellington coach Ufuk Talay was named coach of the year after taking the Phoenix to third on the table in his first season.

Perth, Newcastle, Melbourne Victory and Central Coast did not have any representatives.

The players voted Alex King referee of the year.


Goalkeeper: Jamie Young

Defenders: Rhyan Grant, Alex Wilkinson, Michael Jakobsen, Liberato Cacace

Midfielders: Ulises Davila, Luke Brattan, Alessandro Diamanti

Forwards: Besart Berisha, Jamie Maclaren, Adam Le Fondre

Substitutes: Paul Izzo (GK), Steven Taylor, Milos Ninkovic, Riley McGree, Mitchell Duke

Coach: Ufuk Talay